Wonderful Things, Wonderful Prices, One Central Location

Firearms Transfer

FFL Transfer Rules

Transactions involving firearms in Minnesota are subject to FFL transfer rules. It is a process designed to ascertain eligibility for the lawful ownership of firearms and involves a background check when purchasing a firearm from an authorized FFL holder. We encourage you to explore the various firearm transfer definitions and regulations as outlined below.

What is an FFL?

FFL stands for Federal Firearms License. Established to implement the Federal Firearms Act of 1938, there are several types of FFLs, covering various aspects of firearm sales and purchasing. All firearm manufacturers and dealers who ship or receive guns require an FFL to conduct business.

What is the NICS background check?

The National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) is a system for determining if a prospective firearms buyer is eligible to legally make the purchase. After a prospective buyer completes the appropriate form, the holder of a Federal Firearms License (FFL) initiates the background check by phone or computer. Most results are determined within minutes.

What is a Permit to Purchase / Transfer?

Under MN law, handgun (and certain military-style weapon) purchases from an FFL dealer require a Permit to Purchase. After you submit the application to your local law enforcement agency, they will conduct a background check to assure you meet eligibility requirements established in state law. Once those checks are complete, a one-year permit to purchase a handgun in Minnesota will be issued. If you possess a valid Minnesota permit to carry a handgun, that permit constitutes a permit to purchase for five years. You don't need to apply for a separate permit to purchase.

Is the private party sale of firearms legal?

Background checks are not required under federal law for intrastate firearm transfers between private parties. In , private sales of firearms are allowed and do not require an FFL. However, the safest manner to conduct any transfer is to go to a gun dealer/store/ FFL license holder and do a formal legal transfer. The use of the FFL transfer will remove possible criminal and civil liabilities from the seller. At a minimum, any such transfer should be documented on a bill of sale for your records.

What must I do if purchasing firearms from GunBroker.com or other websites?

In order to complete an online firearm purchase, the item must be shipped to an FFL holder for completion of the proper FFL transfer process.

What is a Permit to Carry?

Under Minnesota law, individuals must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. There is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed. A permit to carry constitutes a permit to purchase. To obtain this permit, you must fill out a Permit to Carry Application and submit it to the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. Once received, the office has 30 days to process the application. Minnesota Statutes, section 624.714, subd. 2a requires permit to carry applicants to present evidence of having received and completed training in the safe and proper use of a handgun from a certified instructor. A permit to carry is valid for five years and authorizes unlimited purchases within that time period.

How much does a Permit to Carry cost?

The fee for a new permit to carry is determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100. A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75. This does not include the cost of any pertinent firearms training courses, which vary by instructor.

What are the age requirements for a Permit to Carry in Minnesota?

You must be at least 21 years old, and be a permanent U.S. resident.

What is a “Shall-Issue” state?

A Shall-Issue is one in which the Permit to Carry applicant must be issued said permit if he or she meets all requirements as stipulated by law, without the discretion of the issuing entity. Minnesota is a “Shall-Issue” state.

What weapons are allowed for licensed carry in Minnesota?

This is limited to handguns only.

What is the Minnesota Right to Self Defense doctrine?

Minnesota does not recognize the “Castle Doctrine” (also referred to as ‘stand your ground’). Instead, a duty to retreat is in place, providing that is feasible in an encounter where the use of deadly force is in question.

Firearm Transactions at Metro Pawn & Gun

We are an authorized FFL dealer and offer many new and used firearms, accessories and ammunition. You must meet all legal requirements to purchase a weapon in Minnesota, and the appropriate paperwork will be completed during any potential purchase. Compliance with all federal, state, and local laws regarding firearm and ammunition sales is standard operating procedure at Metro Pawn & Gun. Our commitment to responsible gun ownership in our community is part of how we do business.

If you have questions regarding any aspect of firearms purchases, sales or pawns, reach out to our staff, and we will be happy to guide you in the process. With many years of experience in the field, we strive to provide comprehensive knowledge and exemplary service to facilitate a client experience second to none.